Review: Hair Spray, High Heels, & Second Hand Smoke

Hair Spray, High Heels and Second Hand SmokePublisher: CreateSpace
Author: Frank Meyner
Genre: Humor, Memoir

★ ☆★ – 3 Stars

Hair Spray, High Heels, & Second Hand Smoke:
When twenty-year-old cosmetologist Frank Meyner moved from a tiny West Texas town to the big city of Fort Worth, he had no inkling of the places his cutting shears would take him. Now, his warmhearted, colorful retelling, Hair Spray, High Heels, and Second Hand Smoke, shares his journey from a small-town boy to the founder of one of the city’s leading salons. With its wealth of big hearts and great hair, Meyner’s captivating tale follows him from humble Hamlin to Fort Worth for his first job at the exclusive Neiman Marcus, where he served as assistant to the legendary stylist Phillip Trotter. There, he was initiated into the upper echelons of Fort Worth society,giving audience to their colorful lifestyle, myriad eccentricities, and graceful charm. After he leaves the salon for his own chair elsewhere, Meyner eventually grabs the brass curling iron and opens his own salon, in which he styles a high spirited who’s who list of always-entertaining patrons for the next thirty years. Amid these “Steel Magnolias” of Fort Worth, Meyner wields his scissors and humor with grace, wit, and humanity. His heartwarming success story turns the salon chair to reveal the generosity, selflessness, and boundless love of this delightful community of customers and colleagues. It’s a must for anyone looking for a fabulous lift that’s sure to produce a permanent smile.

My Review:
I have to say, I was looking forward to this book. I was ecstatic to receive it, but when I started reading it was like I was having to force myself to turn the page. I am not saying the writing is bad, because it is not. I am saying I just couldn’t get the “connect” to the book/author.
I will say that it brought back a lot of memories with my Grandparents, as they helped raise me too, with being raised by Grandparents you learn the value of money, respect, and love. You would understand if  you read even the first chapter of Hair Spray, High Heels, and Second Hand Smoke.
I loved the fact that he went back and wrote about the times he spent with his Grandparents, he will always have those memories in his book, and in everyday life.
The book is about Frank’s journey to become a hairdresser/beauty operator, from a life-changing move to the big city of Forth Worth to his funny tales of what happens behind the beauty chair, and he is still going strong thirty years later.
If you want to find out what it is like looking in on a life of a hairdresser, I would suggest this book! It is funny, and I did laugh through some of it. I just couldn’t keep turning the pages.
This book may not have been for me, but it could be for you. Don’t let my review turn your nose, at least give it a try!

About the Author:
A cosmetologist for the past 37 years, Frank Meyner earned his certification at the Glen and Lottie’s Pivot Point School of Cosmetology. He has owned his own salon, Frank Meyner’s Mane Event, for 28 years in Fort Worth, where he lives.

Buy Links
Amazon
  | Barnes and Noble

Author Links
EmailBlueFaceBookBlue

Disclosure: I received this book for free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

3 responses to “Review: Hair Spray, High Heels, & Second Hand Smoke

  1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the memoir. I guess we all can learn something from Frank’s journey.

  2. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (2) | We're Jumpin' Books

Leave a Reply

