Review: Starring Jules #1: Starring Jules (As Herself)

Starring JulesPublisher: Scholastic Press
Author: Beth Ain
Genre: Children/Realistic Fiction/Grades 3 – 5
Series: Starring Jules
Review Source:  NetGalley/Scholastic

★ ☆★ ☆★ – 5 Stars!

Summary: (Goodreads)
Lights! Camera! Action! A hilarious chapter book debut from a fabulous new talent!
Things to Know About Me by Jules Bloom
1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person.
2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)
3. I am in between best friends right now.
4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!)
Jules doesn’t want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she’s willing to turn to anyone for help–even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up…

My Review:
This is such a cute read. It reminds me a lot of my daughter, and I know she will enjoy this series, not only now but later. I love the fact that Jules keeps lists, as even being an adult I keep lists too. I thought this was normal? No?
Starring Jules reminds me of Junie B with a mix of Fancy Nancy. I absolutely adore it.
I loved it when Beth wrote out how the new student sounds with her accent, brilliant! I can not wait for the rest of this series, I mean, who could totally pass up on a sparking, dancy, imagination little girl? Jules even learns words like: pizzazz, snazzy, and improvise. I love adding vocabulary to my daughter’s world, and with this book it is easily done!

About the Author:
A Pennsylvania girl at heart, Beth Ain fell in love with life in New York City, and she loves trying to capture the essence of family life there. Thankfully, she now has the benefits of both city and small-town life, having settled in Port Washington, New York, where she lives very happily with her husband and their two kids.

Buy Links
Amazon
| Barnes & Noble

Author Links
WordpressBlueTwitterBlue

Disclosure: I received this book for free from NetGalley/Scholastic Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

6 responses to “Review: Starring Jules #1: Starring Jules (As Herself)

  1. Since you compare this book to Junie B. and Fancy Nancy I will have to add it to my TBR list. Thanks for the great review

  2. The audition for a tv commercial reminds me of the infamous Fudge from Judy Blume’s books (: Wow this could remind everyone of Fancy Nancy with those new words she learns. Lovely review (:

  3. This sounds like such a fun book! What a great cover! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves (2) | We're Jumpin' Books

  5. Pingback: 2013 End of the Year Book Survey | We're Jumpin' Books

Leave a Reply

