Contemporary, Romance

Review: All Fired Up

AllFiredUpPublisher: Forever
Author: Kate Meader
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Series: Hot in the Kitchen #2
Review Source: NetGalley/Forever

★ ☆★ – 3 Stars

Summary:
Cool as a Chicago winter, private events planner Cara DeLuca is a model of self-control . . . until she meets the one temptation she can’t resist: Shane Doyle. The sexy, Irish pastry chef is too hot, too sure, too young, and after a crazy night in Vegas-her new husband. While at first Cara wants nothing more than a way out of her sham marriage to Shane, she soon finds that beneath his farm boy demeanor lies a man who can match her drive, both in and out of the bedroom. How can the wrong guy feel so deliciously right?
. . . Tastes so, so good
Shane has carefully structured his career and life around one goal: connecting with the family that doesn’t know he exists. Marrying a woman with more issues than a magazine stand wasn’t part of the plan, but melting Cara’s icy exterior is so worth the detour. Now as the annulment date nears and long-buried secrets are revealed, Shane will have to fight for the one thing guaranteeing the perfect life he craves . . . the current Mrs. Shane Doyle.

My Review:
I heard so many good things about this book. Once I seen it on NetGalley I knew I wanted to give it a try, especially with a cover like that. However, it took me like 3 days to finally finish this book. I loved the book once I got 80% into it. Hey, don’t judge me. I just felt the story line was dragging. There was a lot of times I would doze off while trying to read.
One thing I found boring was dragging Cara’s disease out, or maybe I am not familiar with it, or been around it to understand it, but goodness me, I thought I was going to poke my eye out with my e-reader. If only things would have happened sooner I think it would have caught my attention better. I also think talking about the issues, rather if they are hard or not, would be more realistic instead of these “issues” that came about because someone couldn’t be honest with someone. So with the dragged out situations, that didn’t need to happen, then the ending was rushed. Sigh, I loved the ending though.
There is one scene that I thought was great. It was the moment Shane got Cara in the kitchen and wanted her to just be herself. It was charming, and very sexy. Maybe I can get my husband to get me in the kitchen.
On a good note: The guys in this series are yummy delicious and the sex scenes are hot!

About the Author:
Kate writes sexy contemporary romance that serves up delicious food, to-die-for heroes, and heroines with a dash of sass. FEEL THE HEAT (Jack and Lili) and ALL FIRED UP (Shane and Cara), the first two books in her Hot in the Kitchen series from Forever/Grand Central are now available. The third book, HOT AND BOTHERED (Tad and Jules), will be out in 2014.
Originally from Ireland, she now makes her home in Chicago, a city made for food, romance, and laughter – and where she met her own sexy hero.

Goodreads ButtonBuy Links
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Author Links
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Disclosure: I received this book for free from NetGalley/Forever. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

2 thoughts on “Review: All Fired Up”

Leave a Reply

