Contemporary, Fiction, Romance, Women's

Review: Undressing Mr. Darcy

undressingmrPublisher: Berkley Trade
Author: Karen Doornebos
Genre: Women’s Fiction, Contemporary Romance
Review Source: NetGalley/Berkley Trade

DNF

Summary
Thirty-five-year-old American social-media master Vanessa Robert lives her thoroughly modern life with aplomb. So when her elderly Jane Austen-centric aunt needs her to take on the public relations for Julian Chancellor, a very private man from England who’s written a book called My Year as Mr. Darcy, Vanessa agrees. But she’s not “excessively diverted” as Jane Austen would say.
Hardbound books, teacups and quill pens fly in the face of her e-reader, coffee and smartphone…
…until she sees Julian take his tight breeches off for his Undressing Mr. Darcy show, an educational “striptease” down to his drawers to promote his book and help save his crumbling estate. The public relations expert suddenly realizes things have gotten…personal. But can this old-fashioned man find his way into her heart without so much as a GPS? It will take three festivals filled with Austen fans, a trip to England, an old frenemy, and a flirtatious pirate reenactor to find out…

Review
Everyone has talked or gave hype about the book, but I guess I just couldn’t get into it. I am over 30% into the book, and I still can’t find myself to keep going. Maybe it wasn’t my time for this book, and I can try it again later.
One reason could be, I didn’t read Jane Austen novel “Pride and Prejudice” novel,  so maybe next time I will start there with reading the book, and the “Definitely Not Mr. Darcy” (first book by Karen Doornebos).
However, the writing style is great! I just couldn’t get hooked into the storyline, but I am not saying you can’t.

About the Author
Karen Doornebos is the author of UNDRESSING MR. DARCY published by Berkley, Penguin. Her first novel, DEFINITELY NOT MR. DARCY, has been published in three countries.
She lived and worked in London for a short time, but is now happy just being a lifelong member of the Jane Austen Society of North America and living in the Chicagoland area with her husband, two teenagers and various pets, including a bird.

Goodreads ButtonBuy Links
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Author Links
Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter

Disclosure: I won this book for free via NetGalley/Berkley Trade. I did not have to do the review, and this review is my honest opinion.

2 thoughts on “Review: Undressing Mr. Darcy”

    1. Oh, I hope you can get into it. It just seemed slow, and I couldn’t follow. You know a book can’t grab your attention when you start thinking about other books. If you do a review I would love to read it, hopefully you can get into it. I wish I could had.

Leave a Reply

