Christian, Fiction

Review: Fifteen Minutes

fifteenminutesPublisher: Howard Books
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Genre: Christian Fiction
Review Source: Library

★ ☆★ – 3 Stars

Summary
Zack Dylan made a promise to God and his college sweetheart as he left his family’s horse farm in Kentucky to compete on the popular reality television show Fifteen Minutes: If he makes it, the fame won’t change him.
Overnight, Zack is the nation’s most popular contestant, a country singer with the looks and voice of a young Elvis. As his star rises, Zack is asked to compromise and quiet his beliefs, and also something more. Just as America is falling in love with Zack, just as he’s on the verge of winning it all, his choices lead him to the brink of personal disaster.
At the same time, Reese Weatherly, a therapeutic horse instructor, is no longer sure about her relationship with Zack, or the wedding they had dreamed about. While Zack advances from one round of the competition to the next, an offer comes to Reese–one that will take her to a home halfway around the world.
Then Chandra Olson–reigning diva pop star and one of the Fifteen Minutes judges–intervenes. Chandra has suffered so much public pain and private agony since her days as a Fifteen Minutes contestant. Now she wants just one thing: meaning.
Can Chandra’s private losses help Zack find his way, or will his fifteen minutes of fame cause him to lose the life he once loved? Fifteen Minutes is a story of character, compromise, and the cost of having it all. A story that raises the question: Who are the real winners?

Review
I think WordPress (or me) went crazy tonight. I am trying to figure it out. I thought I had this review made out, but mehhh, Things happen! Here is it now though 🙂
I seen this book a lot through the web the last couple of weeks. I knew I wanted to get my hands on it when I saw it sitting on the New Release stand at the library, I am so glad I did! This book was good. I am so glad I got to read it. Fifteen Minutes was different from my normal reads, but most of the books I read come from my inner-self of give that book a shot.
Zack Dylan knows he wants to sing, and save his farm. He heads off to Atlanta to audition of Fifteen Minutes. Constantly Zack is reminding himself, and others that he won’t let the spotlight get to him and that he will shine for God. However, Zack is blinded I guess.
Zack gets warned about a lot of things, but it is like he doesn’t want to hear it, or doesn’t want to see the truth, but yet he prayed for God to show him.
There was a lot to this book that made me want to stop reading it. A lot of things was predictable. The book is like reading about American Idol, or The Voice transcript. Of course, most common sense people would know that TV shows are staged, and they make things happen. I did enjoy the read, but it wasn’t one of the best reads. Would I read it again? Probably not. Would I recommend it to someone? I dunno, I guess it all depended on the person I was talking to. Would I try the author again? Absolutely.

“Well…” His grandpa was quiet. “The situation with AJ isn’t an emergency.” He hesitated. “Whatever God tells you… just do that, son.”
Tension tightened its grip on Zack’s soul. “I’m trying. He keeps moving me on to the next round.”
“Sometimes God’s voice is hard to hear over the world”
“Yes.” The city was louder now. Zack had to yell to be heard. The noise drove home his grandpa’s point. “Thank you. For reminding me.” ~pg. 233

About the Author
USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Karen Kingsbury is America’s #1 inspirational novelist. There are more than 15 million copies of her award-winning books in print, including several million copies sold in the past year. Karen has written more than 40 novels, ten of which have hit #1 on national lists.
Karen has a true love for her readers, and she has nearly 100,000 friends on Facebook along with more than 7,500 followers on Twitter. The popular social networking sites have allowed Karen daily interaction with her reader friends.
Karen is best known for her Life-Changing Fiction (TM) and for creating unforgettable characters. When speaking before women’s groups – some with more than 10,000 in attendance – Karen makes audiences laugh and cry with her compelling story-telling. She likes to tell attendees they have, “One chance to write the story of their lives,” and her talk focuses on reminding women to live every day loving well, laughing often, and finding true life in Jesus Christ. Karen routinely speaks before more than 100,000 women each year.

Goodreads ButtonBuy Link
Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Author Links
Website | Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter

Disclosure: I received this book from the library. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

